Social Networking Hurts The Communication Skills of College Students

How many of us feel that the use of social media has hurt our relationships or vocabulary?
While social media has been great for so many, there are those who point out that it is also hurting college students. Students will more frequently email their professors instead of having actual interactions. This can not only affect interactions while in college, but also out of college when students are interviewing for jobs and don’t have all of the necessary interpersonal skills. Or it can hurt the writing of working professionals. Seriously, have you ever almost (or actually) sent an email with social media slang instead of business or proper words/vocabulary? I almost did today. Don’t worry I caught myself before I hit the send button. But enough about me, the overall point is that social media has become a blessing and a curse for college students and professionals.

