One in Five People Have Broken Up via Text Message

This article gives a few stats on how the dynamics of communication in intimate relationships has changed as a result of text messaging and social media; although the article does state that the stats provided were based on a survey taken by a limited number of people for a short period of time, the information gathered is astonishing… After reading the article, my conclusion is that this new trend allows some people to hide behind their keyboards and phones instead of being accountable for their feelings. I could not imagine communicating any serious feelings for my mate, family members or even my good friends over text message or any social media outlet unless it’s an emoticon to indicate that I am happy 🙂 or sad :-(, but even then a phone call would follow after… What ever happened to empathy?

Submitted by Nyja Burgess

